jump to navigation

Theatre awards ceremony on Monday December 3, 2006

Posted by grhomeboy in Stage & Theater.

The Union of Hellenic Theatre and Music Critics, in association with the City of Athens Cultural Organisation, is hosting the 2006 Theatre and Music Critics’ Awards and Distinctions and the Karolos Koun Awards on Monday, December 4, at noon at the Athens Concert Hall, Dimitris Mitropoulos Hall.

Considered the most prestigious awards in the respective fields, the Critics’ Awards cover all categories of Greek lyrical expression in these two key forms, while also touching on musicology and the theatre of science.

This year’s Theatre and Music Committees comprise critics hailing from a wide variety of publications. More specifically, the Theatre Committee comprises Matina Kaltaki, Irini Moudraki (chairman), Spyros Payiatakis, Dimitris Tsatsoulis and Giorgos Hadjidakis, while the Music Committee is composed of Thanassis Valvidas, Giorgos Kyrko-Tayias, Kyriakos Loukakos (chairman), Liana Roussianou-Piperaki and Alexis Spanidis.

The announcement of award nominees will be accompanied by a brief screening of a sample of the nominated work. Additionally, journalist Ellie Solomonidou-Balanou will be pronounced honorary member of the Union for her extensive journalistic contribution.

The symbol of the Theatre and Music Critics’ Awards is a gold-plated replica of a wreath which was found in a Hellenistic-era royal grave and is on display in the Benaki Museum. The symbol of the Karolos Koun Awards is a replica of the work “Sun”, which was created by artist Diamandis Diamandopoulos for a production of Euripides’ “Alcestis”, the first ancient Greek play directed by Karolos Koun.

Related Links > http://www.cityofathens.gr/files/pdf/HomePage/upopsifioi2006.pdf

%d bloggers like this: